Last week in Tranås – explorers’ map and bird patterns

22 Aug

In time for this weekend’s art festival here in Tranås I’ve completed an illustrated map of the antique and second hand shops in town. It folds down to A6 size – and out into a one sheet map locating 10 shops to visit. There’s also a rating system so visitors can colour in stars depending on how much they like each shop, and a notes area to jot down what bargains or treasures they discovered. These are being printed for the tourist centre, and also distributed to all 10 of the shops on the map. I am pleased to be able to leave something useful for the community alongside the workshops in book binding and screen printing that I ran during my stay. Transition Tranås will also be using the map. Here are some pictures:

map1forweb

map2forweb

map3forweb

 

Here is a photo of my first customers for the map – a German couple who were visiting the Eriksberg Museum for a tour of the fur exhibition with Gustav. I loved their matching jumpers.

german visitors and map

Here is a geometric bird design – screen printed onto fabric last week. I’m looking forward to working with this design some more.
geometric birds

T shirt printed with the bird design – it also looks like Matt here has a feathery front, out in his natural habitat….

matttshirtforweb

So, today is my last day in Tranås, where I have been living and working as an artist in residence for just over 5 weeks. Here I have had the opportunity to create, explore and develop my practice as a printmaker and designer, as well as take in some very beautiful surroundings. I’m therefore very grateful to Kultivera, to Eva, Peter, Colm and Elisabeth for such a warm weclome here; to Carl and Soren at Epic Youth Centre for letting me use their screen printing facilities; and to the antique and second hand shops for allowing me to draw the objects in their shops. I’ve got many more ideas for patterns and illustrations to create when I get home. I’m bringing some examples of work back home to Wales and am planning an exhibition next year. What I’m also taking home is a renewed creative mindset – to making time within my practice to play. I’ve found that I’ve been most productive when  experimenting with new ideas, new techniques, rather than trying to plan a design from the start. The pieces of work that grow by themselves, more spontaneously, have often been the beginning of stronger designs. I have some exciting projects on the way this Autumn – including an interactive children’s book and another map design. More news on this soon. 

residents

Here we all are. It’s been a blast – thanks guys x

Leave a Reply

