Dispatches from Tranås: open day, exhibitions & experiments

16 Aug

There’s a noticeable freshness to the air this week. The lake feels a few degrees colder and in the forest nearby the rowan berries and rosehips are glowing a rich red. Autumn is on its way – and it is not long until the end of the Residency so I’ve been eager to make the most of the time left here. Working to deadlines has always benefited me creatively – wherever there’s a constraint, time, space, colour – then my designs become more playful and less forced.

So it was helpful last Saturday to have an open house here in Kraftverket – and the night before I was busily screen printing more patterns to display at the event.

Here is a picture of my exhibition – a collection of pattern prints inspired by second hand and antique objects.

open day1

IMG_0193
IMG_0189

My work is now on display for a week in the window of antique shop Inspiration ab. The screen prints are surrounded by the objects that inspired them – from an old kettle to a traditionally painted cockered to a globe that lights up. This little exhibition will be up for a week – so for those of you reading who live in Tranas, please take a look. Otherwise, enjoy this picture:

IMG_0247

This week I have been playing with other techniques, now that the second hand patterns project feels complete. Here are some things I’ve made using water pens to draw with watercolour paints, and also some paper cut designs.
EPSON MFP image
lamps pattern
geometric birds
houses jetties
birds for Emma

I’m also working towards creating an explorers’ map of the second hand shops – loppis – in Tranås. Pictures coming soon. It’s just one week left here now – I’m planning to make the most of it!

2 Responses to “Dispatches from Tranås: open day, exhibitions & experiments”

  1. francesca kay August 17, 2013 at 7:08 am #

    I love the lighting pattern – an angle poise lamp is a rather lovely shape isn’t it – I’ve never actually LOOKED at one before!

    • textilesketches August 17, 2013 at 8:05 am #

      I love angle poises (and drawing them). We have a big black lamp found for free, very useful for changing the light when doing designs. I’ve seen quite a few good ones here in the second hand shops, wish I could bring them home with me!

Leave a Reply

