The dish ran away with the spoon – new screen print

5 Dec

I’m pleased as pie to reveal my newest screen print, featuring a cast of a little laughing dog, a mustachioed, torch-wielding spoon, closely followed by a scampering dish with a penchant for vintage satchels. Inspired by the nursery rhyme, this was designed on a train, as much of my work is at the moment as I to and fro every other weekend to lovely Brighton, where the other half lives. Then I’ve spent the last couple of days screen printing them – 28 in total.

DishSpoon2Web

Dish web

Spoon web

Dish and Spoon prints

Not normally working in shades of blue and grey, I found this print a refreshing change although it still features my signature orange, found in lots of my prints.

This set of prints is the first edition, and I’m planning on developing the image further next year, trying out different colourways and effects using photoshop.

The image below began life as a papercut design. The paper was sourced from Lidl, coming in an array of bright colours. I’m going to play around with this technique quite a bit over the Christmas holidays and see what other things I can come up with.

Cabins and Hares Papercut

Last but not least, if you haven’t already please vote for my Dala Horses mug design for Pedlars Product of the month – there’s just a few days left now! See the previous post for all the details.

Right, now to create some packaging for everything in time for the weekend…

2 Responses to “The dish ran away with the spoon – new screen print”

  1. Music&Meaning December 5, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    TS: wow…this is great work; i’ve reposted. thx for sharing! RT

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The dish ran away with the spoon – new screen print « The Rag Tree - December 5, 2012

    […] The dish ran away with the spoon – new screen print. […]

Leave a Reply

