Some illustrations from recent sketchbookery

13 Aug

Hello there. It’s about time I added some drawings here, as I’ve mostly been working in a sketchbook recently, drawing out some ideas and playing with my new white pen. So below are an assortment of birds (I think my favourite is Leonard, wearing a Steve Zissou inspired seafaring hat), and a tree bearing pencils, not plums. Our plum tree hasn’t produced a single one this year. Hoping that the blackberries do better.

Anyway, here they are!


Also, whilst in London last week I ventured into Covent Garden and spent some time in Neal’s Yard. A treasure of a place squeezed between two streets. A feast of good things – remedies, pastries, tea – and bright colours, so let me share this photo with you:

 

Do follow me on Pinterest, by the way. I’m putting most of my links to inspiring artwork and pictures on here, now. From creatures to bicycles and pattern design to Scandinavia, it’s good to see these images alongside each other.

Last but not least, I’ve recently taught a couple of classes as part of the Cardiff Open Art School’s Summer programme. I’ll be doing some more workshops in the Autumn (including festive lino-cut and letterpress, Book binding and Make Your Own Advent Calendar) and will post the dates/details up here shortly.

Here’s a photo of one of the pieces produced in the Letterpress class: we experimenting with not inking up the text and instead just pressing it, to create this lovely embossed effect. The theme of the day was first lines of books, and this one is a classic!

Have a marvellous week…

 

 

One Response to “Some illustrations from recent sketchbookery”

  1. goodsitizen May 30, 2013 at 3:48 am #

    I want to pet Bjorn. Great illustrations.

Leave a Reply

