“Outside a dog…” the first of many lino prints

22 Dec

“Outside a dog, a book is a man’s best friend. But inside a dog, it’s too dark to read.”

Groucho Marx said this gem. Very wise man. I have printed it as a lino cut in an array of colourways using the Breton printing press. It was a joyful sight to peel the first proof away from the sticky ink on the lino and find that it had worked… and then the production line began! Here is the lino: it looks pretty cool, I think, dyed with the ink so you can see the relief of the surface carved away.

And here are the proofs printed so far. I printed onto coloured paper, using inks that are of a similar colour to the base. My personal  favourite is the burgundy / dark purple on the rich brown, and also the dark green on ochre (which was a Photoshop experiment using the original below).

Lino printing is very theraputic – I’m still deciding how many of these prints to do properly and will most probably select about five colourways to go into production with! In the new year I plan to set up a shop, to sell these prints, the Verb Garden and digital prints of my illustration work.

Also in 2012 I’m going to be doing some art work for band Hotel Yeboah, as well as developing the picture book The Rocket Dog with my friend Kath Latham. Following a conversation with the lovely Nick from Hotel Yeboah I’m planning on sketching out some strange animal / weather combinations (a nice thing to do next week, perhaps). Other things include combining my love of printing and book making to make some artist books which combine illustration, lino cut and letterpress / typography. I’ll post developments up as I go!

Meanwhile.

in perusing the internets I stumbled across a few artists / shops worth sharing. I do this quite a lot. So… this is the first in a new section I’ll be adding to my blog in 2012 called I WANT THIS IN MY LIFE (or something along these lines). It will be a cooking pot of illustrators, textiles, books, webshops and other e-phemera which I feel are worth sharing and recommending to you. 

Firstly, this slug risograph print by illustrator Eleanor Meredith.  It’s sold by Howkapow, a design store showcasing unique artwork and gifts. , . I love the loose lines and the smile of the slimy creature!

– The screen printed books, cards and limited edition prints by Brighton artist Alice Pattullo, sold through the Shop Floor Project. I especially like this one:

The hand painted, illustrated ceramics of James Ward – cups which stack to make animals various, always satisfying! Click here to check out the full range of drawn-on crockery…

And last but not least, I really like the look of The Midnight Folk by John Masefield, with illustrations by the incredible Sara Ogilvie. I love her work. Originally published in 1927 it has been beautifully reprinted by the Folio Society. I want it in my life!

I hope you enjoy following these links, may they inspire you / tempt you to buy them!

2012 Evening Class

From Monday 9 January, for 10 Mondays from 7-9 pm, I will be teaching the Introduction to Handmade Books course again for the Cardiff Open Art School. I’ll be combining a range of binding and folding techniques with an opportunity to develop your own artist book using illustration, printmaking and mixed media. Find out more and sign up here!

So, without further ado, I hope you have a cosy Christmas full of mince pies shiny baubles sloe gin and festive merriment! May 2012 be awesome. thanks for reading x 

5 Responses to ““Outside a dog…” the first of many lino prints”

  1. annjrippin December 23, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    I love these dog prints. Where can I buy your work?

    • textilesketches December 23, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

      I will be setting up an online shop in the new year / asap – I’ll let you know once it’s up and running (it will contain various colourways of Outside a Dog and more). Thank you!

  2. Angela Callalnan January 13, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

    Love the lino print and also love the Marx Brothers. I agree with AnnJRippin it would be lovley to see your work for sale online. I am sure it would be very much in demand 🙂

  3. Angela Callanan January 13, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

    Love the lino print and also love the Marx Brothers. I agree with AnnJRippin it would be lovely to see your work for sale online. I am sure it would be very much in demand 🙂

Leave a Reply

